Uzbekistan and Azerbaijan have extended the mutual stay period for their citizens on the territory of the countries up to 15 days without registration, as reported by the press service of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Uzbekistan.

The procedure for entry, stay and exit of citizens of both countries was amended in the intergovernmental agreement “On visa-free travels of citizens of the Republic of Uzbekistan and the Republic of Azerbaijan” dated June 18, 1997.

“The protocol is aimed at creating favourable conditions for the citizens of the two countries, and it specifies that they will be exempt from the obligation to enter/exit Uzbekistan and Azerbaijan, pass through transit, and register with the competent authorities of the country they are in for 15 days,” the message says.

Previously, this permissible stay duration was limited to 5 days in Uzbekistan and 10 days in Azerbaijan.

A visa-free regime has been established between Uzbekistan and Azerbaijan: Uzbekistanis visiting Azerbaijan are allowed a stay of up to 90 days and Azerbaijanis visiting Uzbekistan — up to 30 days.