Central Election Commission of Uzbekistan registered all four candidates from the country’s four registered political parties for the post of the President at its session on 28 October, the commission press service said.

Presidential candidates

  • Sarvar Otamuratov has been registered from Milly Tiklanish (National Revival) Democratic Party of Uzbekistan;
  • Shavkat Mirziyoyev from the Movement of Entrepreneurs and Businesspeople — Liberal Democratic Party of Uzbekistan (UzLiDeP);
  • Hotamjon Ketmonov from the People’s Democratic Party of Uzbekistan; and
  • Nariman Umarov from Adolat (Justice) Social Democratic Party of Uzbekistan.

In accordance with the Law on Elections of the President, electoral campaign of candidates starts from the date of their registration.

Each candidate is provided with free 638 minutes of airtime for each on Uzbekistan and Yoshlar television and radio channels of the National TV and Radio Company. They are also given 206 minutes each on 12 local TV and radio channels, and 286 minutes on Toshkent TV and radio channel (airs in the capital city and region).

Candidates are provided with free print space in newspapers Khalq Sozi (Uzbek language), Narodnoe Slovo (Russian language) and Pravda Vostoka (Russian) with 6 pages each, 5 pages each in Ovozi Tojik (Tajik language) and Nurly Zhol (Kazakh), as well as 55.5 print space stripes in 30 local newspapers in general.

In regions of the country, each candidate will be provided with a total of 642 stands by means of outdoor advertising, special constructions, screens, billboards, as well as the opportunity to use 36 electronic monitors throughout Uzbekistan for free placement of campaigning videos.

To recap, 9,378 polling stations, including 44 with diplomatic and consular missions in foreign countries, have been established for the elections of President of Uzbekistan.

The Central Election Commission has accredited more than 500 representatives of national and foreign media, and about 560 local journalists have been accredited by district election commissions.